I have tasted sweet, spicy victory!!

I have tasted sweet, spicy victory!!

And it tasted just like the homemade black bean burgers I made last night. Yep, you read that right. Homemade black bean burgers. Made. By. Me. I certainly chose a doozy for my first recipe on this journey.

It all looked so simple on the glowing computer screen. Pour everything in a food processor. Form burgers. Cook! I raced home from work, eager to check off the first meal on my first ever menu plan. Well maybe eager is a stretch, but I wouldn’t say I was dreading it either. Or maybe my memory of it has gone all rosy after the success of it all. But that came later. First, I actually had to execute this not-as-easy-as-it-looked monster of a first recipe.

Prep time was listed as 10 minutes. I didn’t time myself, but I’m gonna go out on a limb here and say that mine took at least 3x that. Of course, if I knew how to chop cilantro (thanks Google!) or how to convert measurements (and again!) or had a functioning can opener (this shoutout goes to the lovely S and J), 10 minutes seems quite doable. By the time I was done, I had:

1 destroyed kitchen

1 black bean purée covered mom

2 screaming toddlers

and 9 beautiful, almost-like-the-picture burger patties.

I put them in the fridge to harden up, and spent the next 2 hours bargaining with every higher power to MAKE THESE TASTE GOOD. I am not kidding when I say that if these things had not been edible, bad things were going to happen. Very bad things.

I was delighted when I pulled them out 2 hours later and discovered something must have gone right. They were beautiful and firm and could be moved about just like beef burgers. I cooked them up, along with the potato and zucchini fries I also found on Pinterest, and then came the test. Would they taste as good as they smelled? Would their cilantro heavy flavor overpower the sour taste left by the previous chaos in the kitchen? Would this be my first victory??

The answer is… YES! YES! A thousand times YES!!!!!

I loved the burgers. My friend (read: guinea pig) loved the burgers. AND they passed the kid test with flying colors! Even my husband, who does not like black bean burgers, reluctantly admitted that “they were good, I guess, if you like things like that.” That’s right guys. I aced the first test!!! And after this undeniable success on Day 3, I am almost excited about my dinner for tonight: Italian sausage stuffed peppers. Let’s see if I can go 2 for 2! Wish me luck!

Pro Tip:

If one splurges on the good, expensive sweet chili sauce that pairs perfectly with black bean burgers, one should probably keep it under lock and key. One should probably not leave it out on the table where J can get to it. And one should definitely not leave one’s phone dangerously close to it.

3 thoughts on “I have tasted sweet, spicy victory!!

Leave a Reply

